{Fireside Fridays} What to Read Next, Part 2

So you have a handful of books you want dive into. (If you don’t, check out What to Read, Part 1.) But which one should you read first? Maybe you’re looking at your dauntingly-long “Books To Read” list and thinking, “Okay, um, where in the world do I start?” I’ve certainly been there, and here are a few things I consider when trying to figure out which book to pick up next.

yareadingguide_rha_collectionsbanner

source here

1.Genre. I read somewhere that being well-read doesn’t mean having read a lot of books in one genre—it means you’ve read a few books from lots of genres. I love this definition because it encourages me to explore, to try new things, to develop new tastes. I easily fall into ruts of fantasy-only, fiction-only, and so on, so whenever I’m at the what-to-read-next stage, I stop and think: What kinds of books have I been reading recently? Lots of fiction? Then I’ll try a non-fiction. Lots of young adult books? Then I’ll try a classic 0r adult theology book.

 2. Age. C. S. Lewis once wrote that for every few modern books you read, you should go back and read a classic. I’ll indulge in a quote from his essay “On the Reading of Old Books”:

Every age has its own outlook. It is specially good at seeing certain truths and specially liable to make certain mistakes. We all, therefore, need the books that will correct the characteristic mistakes of our own period. And that means the old books.

To maintain a balanced view of the world, and to guard against becoming blind to the mistakes of our generation, we must read the old books. As a student, I generally have to read older books for school, so I usually stick to more modern books for my fun reading. However, in the summer, I try to ensure that I read at least a few classics. They may be more difficult, but they are far more rewarding.

3. Current needs. Books are not just for entertainment (though let me point out, it’s always not wrong to read them just for fun). They are also teachers, guides, and encouragers. When deciding what to read next, examine your life. Are there any spiritual truths you need to be reminded of? Tackle a book about them. Is there an area in your life where you’re struggling? Consider picking up a book that will help you in this area. Maybe you need to read a book on trusting God or managing finances or, who knows, farming. There is so much information and wisdom available through books, more so now than in any previous generations—take advantage of it!

4. For writers. Writers, we all know that what we read affects what we write. Take this into consideration when deciding which book to dive into next. Do you need to do any research for the book you’re writing? Pick up a book on the topic you need to learn more about. Another great tip is to read some books similar in style to the one you’re writing, because often they can inspire you and keep you in the zone of whatever genre you’re writing in. Conversely, also try books that are different from what you are writing—not only will it make you a more well-rounded person, it will add depth and uniqueness to your writing.

In short, focus on variety and usefulness—dabble in many genres, even ones that scare (or bore) you, and utilize books to aid you in your life. But when all else fails, and you truly don’t know what to read, pick up the book that interests you, that makes you excited to read. Forget about the rules and the lists, and read for the love of it. Don’t become so preoccupied with reading the “right” thing that you don’t read at all. Never let your fear that you aren’t fitting the criteria stop you from reading, and never let rules get in the way of your love for it. Don’t take this too far, obviously, but just remember that these are not hard-and-fast rules intended to make reading a chore.

How do you decide what to read next? What are you planning on reading next? 

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “{Fireside Fridays} What to Read Next, Part 2

  1. Awesome post. *nods* Another thing on what you said about genre- I’ve found that if I read too much in a single genre or sub-genre, I burn out and start regarding the books a bit cynically. (This is especially true of dystopians and historical fictions and anything with a great deal of romance.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Ohhh, yes, that’s a good point. I’ve found that happening to myself as well. I start to get sick of certain trends/cliches and find all the nitpicky problems with them. Yup, those genres are especially susceptible to it. Sadly.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post so much, Abby. I have a TON of books on my to-read list and this will definitely help me figure out which one to read first. 😉 And I completely agree–even if old books are harder to read they are really rewarding.

    Oh, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY! *pounces, huggles, throws confetti, hands chocolate and tea and books* I hope you had an amazing birthday, and I know that this upcoming year will be a terrific one for you. Thank you for being such an inspiration to everyone. Keep on writing and living for Jesus, my dear. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dearest Abby,

    My problem was always that if I sat down to read I felt that I should be “doing” something. I felt that by reading I was not accomplishing anything. Therefore, I read very little unless it was a school assignment. Then I felt that it was a good thing to do. Now that I substitute every day I have lots of time to read and I absolutely agree with you that it is good to read a variety of genres. I also felt that way when your Daddy was little. I read when he was taking his nap and I read a lot. I became tired of fiction and only wanted to read histories and biographies. Happy Birthday!

    All my love,

    Grammy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s